Revised Schedule and Format Set for CWI Rising Stars Men's Under-19 Championship

Revised Schedule and Format Set for CWI Rising Stars Men's Under-19 Championship

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua - Cricket West Indies (CWI) Rising Stars Men's Under-19 Championship, initially set to commence on July 2, with a three-day competition preceding a 50-over tournament, has undergone significant changes due to Hurricane Beryl's passage earlier this week. The hurricane affected regions including host country St. Vincent and the Grenadines, necessitating a delay and a subsequent alteration in the tournament's format.

The tournament will now begin on July 11 in St. Vincent and the Grenadines. The updated format will feature four rounds of two-day matches and five rounds of 50-over matches. Despite these modifications, the tournament will still conclude on July 31 as initially planned, ensuring teams have a balance of match time to develop their skills and adequate time for recovery between matches. 

Cricket West Indies Director of Cricket, Miles Bascombe, stated, "Following an assessment by our Cricket Department, I am pleased to confirm that the pitches and outfields are in excellent condition. Additionally, electricity and water services have been fully restored at all venues and accommodation facilities."

The Barbados, Leeward Islands, Jamaica, and Guyana teams are scheduled to arrive today Monday, July 8. The Trinidad and Tobago team will arrive on Wednesday, July 10. The Windward Islands team is already present in St. Vincent.

Bascombe also commended all stakeholders for their effort in reorganizing and readying the tournament under challenging circumstances. "I want to extend my gratitude to everyone involved in the quick and efficient reorganization of the championship. Your dedication has ensured we can proceed as planned. I also commend the players for their patience and understanding during this period.” Bascombe said.

The revised schedule is as follows and will be streamed via the official WINDIES YouTube channel: 

Story image
Story image


About Cricket West Indies

Cricket West Indies (CWI) takes great pride and responsibility in growing, guiding and organising cricket throughout the English-speaking Caribbean countries which form the West Indies, represented internationally by the West Indies men’s, women’s and age-group teams.

The West Indies international team is unique in cricket and in international sport. It is the only team in cricket that represents a group of nations, drawing on the strength, skills and passion of each nation to unite through cricket and take on the world.

CWI is the governing body for all professional and amateur cricket in the region, from the West Indies international teams  and home series to regional tournaments such as the West Indies Championship (4-Day), the one-day CG United Super50 Cup and the women’s T20 Blaze.


Cricket West Indies
PO Box 616 W
Coolidge Cricket Ground
St George
Antigua and Barbuda
West Indies